Riverside Police Department
Press Release


For Immediate Release

Date March 29, 2002
Contact Communications Supervisor John Wright
Phone (909) 826-5257
Fax (909) 826-5235


California Public-Safety Radio Association (CPRA)
2002 Telecommunicator Awards Ceremony


Riverside, CA – On Thursday, April 11, 2002 CPRA will be holding their 14th annual Telecommunicator Awards Ceremony in the ballroom of the Radisson Resort at Knott’s Berry Farm from 7pm – 10:30pm. CPRA is a chapter of the Associated Public-Safety Communications Officials, International (APCO), which recognizes 911 Operators and Dispatchers for their efforts in protecting the safety of our citizens, along with the Police Officers and Firefighters they work with. The event will include dinner, guest speakers, entertainment and the presentation of awards.

The Riverside Police and Fire Department is proud to announce the following winners from our agencies.

Kathy Warr - Supervisor of the Year

Marilyn Cameron - First Runner Up Dispatcher of the Year

Gail Chavez-Muench - First Runner Up Outstanding Fire Performance

Kim Schulte, Nicole Bowles - Honorable Mention Outstanding Police Team and Karen McCoy Performance

The annual Telecommunicators Awards Banquet is the kick off event for National Tele-Communicators Week, which is April 14 – 20, 2002. This years event is titled "A Celebration of Unsung Heroes. Nominations were received from several Southern California agencies from San Diego County through Ventura County.

Prepared by: Officer Felix Medina