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BUCKLE UP DAY AND NIGHT
One Million Californians Still Not Buckling Up

Riverside, Calif. — As families across California plan for upcoming spring travel, there’s not much you can do to control the
cost of filling up the gas tank, but you can avoid a costly ticket by making sure that everyone in the car wears their seat belt.
Law enforcement throughout the state, including the Riverside Police Department, will be looking for unbelted drivers and
passengers as part of the 2011 Click It or Ticket mobilization, May 23 — June 5. The fines and fees for first time adult seat
belt violations is a minimum of $142. For children under 16, the fine is $445 for a first time offense.

Because nighttime passenger vehicle occupants are among those least likely to buckle up and most likely to die in crashes
when unrestrained, nighttime enforcement has become a priority of the Click It or Ticket mobilization. Nationwide, of those
who died in nighttime crashes in 2009, nearly two-thirds (62 percent) were not wearing seat belts at the time of their fatal
crashes.

“Many nighttime traffic deaths can be prevented if more motorists simply start wearing their seat belts. Law enforcement
throughout the area will be looking for seat belt violators, day and night,” said Riverside Police Chief Sergio Diaz. “Citations
will be issued without warning. It's not just about avoiding a costly ticket; it's about keeping your loved ones alive.
Remember to buckle up on every trip, day and night.”

California’s current seat belt use rate of 96.2 percent is at an all- time high, but that still leaves nearly one million people
who are not buckling up, putting their lives at risk every time they get into the car. The Click It or Ticket mobilization is
credited with increasing the state’s adult seat belt usage rate from 92.5 percent in 2005 to 96.2 percent in 2010.

“We are very proud of California’s seat belt and child safety seat use rates,” said Christopher J. Murphy, Director of the
California Office of Traffic Safety. “However, with nearly one million motorists still not buckling up, there is much more work
to do. Reaching the last four percent of motorists is crucial to reaching our goal of zero deaths.”

More than 600 permanent Click It or Ticket highway signs, which have been up since 2005, have been updated to reflect
the ‘Minimum $142" message as a reminder to motorists that failing to buckle up is costly.
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Properly restrained drivers, passengers and children have a 50 percent better chance of surviving a crash than unbelted
occupants. Those ejected from vehicles in crashes or roll-overs are up to 35 times more likely to die than restrained
occupants. In 2009 alone, seat belts saved approximately 12,713 lives nationwide. In California, it is estimated that 320
people who were killed in 2009 would be alive today if they had been wearing seat belts.

More than 140 local law enforcement agencies statewide and the California Highway Patrol will be participating in this year's
Click It or Ticket mobilization. Funding to support California’s Click It or Ticket campaign was provided by a grant from the
California Office of Traffic Safety through the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.
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