

November 21, 2023

Sue Parker Chief Clerk of the Assembly State Capitol, Room 319 Sacramento, California

Dear Ms. Parker,

Please be advised that I have made changes to the Standing Committees for the 2023-24 Regular Session.

The following committee appointment will be effective January 22, 2024:

Appropriations

Assemblymember Buffy Wicks will replace Assemblymember Chris Holden as Chair of the Assembly Appropriations Committee. Assemblymember Holden will be removed from the committee.

The remaining Standing Committee appointments will be effective immediately:

Accountability and Administrative Review

I have removed Assemblymember Cottie Petrie-Norris as Chair of the Assembly Accountability and Administrative Review Committee creating a vacancy.

Arts, Entertainment, Sports, and Tourism

I have appointed Assemblymember Mike Gipson to replace Assemblymember Sharon Quirk-Silva as Chair of the Assembly Arts, Entertainment, Sports, and Tourism Committee. Assemblymember Quirk-Silva has been removed from the committee.

Budget

I have appointed Assemblymember Jesse Gabriel to replace Assemblymember Phil Ting as Chair of the Assembly Budget Committee. I have also appointed Assemblymembers Sharon Quirk-Silva and Avelino Valencia to the committee. Assemblymembers Mia Bonta, Wendy Carrillo, and Kevin McCarty have been removed from the committee, creating a Democratic vacancy.

Environmental Safety and Toxic Materials

I have appointed Assemblymember Eduardo Garcia to replace Assemblymember Alex Lee as Chair of the Assembly Environmental Safety and Toxic Materials Committee. Assemblymember Lee has been removed from the committee.

Sue Parker November 21, 2023 Page Two

Governmental Organization

I have appointed Assemblymember Blanca Rubio to replace Assemblymember Miguel Santiago as Chair of the Assembly Governmental Organization Committee. Assemblymember Santiago has been removed from the committee creating a Democratic vacancy.

Health

I have appointed Assemblymember Mia Bonta to replace Assemblymember Jim Wood as Chair of the Assembly Health Committee. Assemblymember Wood has been removed from the committee.

Housing and Community Development

I have appointed Assemblymember Chris Ward to replace Assemblymember Buffy Wicks as Chair of the Assembly Housing and Community Development Committee. Assemblymember Wicks has been removed from the committee creating a Democratic vacancy.

Human Services

I have appointed Assemblymember Alex Lee to replace Assemblymember Corey Jackson as Chair of the Assembly Human Services Committee. Assemblymember Jackson has been removed from the committee.

Judiciary

I have appointed Assemblymember Ash Kalra to replace Assemblymember Brian Maienschein as Chair of the Assembly Judiciary Committee. Assemblymember Maienschein has been removed from the committee creating a Democratic vacancy.

Labor and Employment

I have appointed Assemblymember Liz Ortega to replace Assemblymember Ash Kalra as Chair of the Assembly Labor and Employment Committee. Assemblymember Kalra has been removed from the committee creating a Democratic vacancy.

Natural Resources

I have appointed Assemblymember Isaac Bryan to replace Assemblymember Luz Rivas as Chair of the Assembly Natural Resources Committee. Assemblymember Luz Rivas has been removed from the committee.

Privacy and Consumer Protection

I have appointed Assemblymember Rebecca Bauer-Kahan to replace Assemblymember Jesse Gabriel as Chair of the Assembly Privacy and Consumer Protection Committee. Assemblymember Gabriel has been removed from the committee creating a Democratic vacancy.

Public Safety

I have appointed Assemblymember Kevin McCarty to replace Assemblymember Reginald Jones-Sawyer as Chair of the Assembly Public Safety Committee. Assemblymember Jones-Sawyer has been removed from the committee.

Rules

I have appointed Assemblymember Blanca Pacheco to replace Assemblymember James Ramos as Chair of the Assembly Rules Committee. Assemblymember Ramos has been removed from the committee creating a Democratic vacancy.

Sue Parker November 21, 2023 Page Three

Transportation

I have appointed Assemblymember Lori Wilson to replace Assemblymember Laura Friedman as Chair of the Assembly Transportation Committee. Assemblymember Friedman has been removed from the committee.

Utilities and Energy

I have appointed Assemblymember Cottie Petrie-Norris to replace Assemblymember Eduardo Garcia as Chair of the Assembly Utilities and Energy Committee. Assemblymember Garcia has been removed from the committee.

Water, Parks, and Wildlife

I have appointed Assemblymember Diane Papan to replace Assemblymember Rebecca Bauer-Kahan as Chair of the Assembly Water, Parks, and Wildlife Committee. Assemblymember Bauer-Kahan has been removed from the committee.

I have created the following Budget Subcommittees for the remainder of the 2023-24 Regular Session and have appointed the following Chairs:

Budget Subcommittee No. 1 on Health

I have appointed Assemblymember Akilah Weber as Chair of Assembly Budget Subcommittee No. 1 on Health.

Budget Subcommittee No. 2 on Human Services

I have appointed Assemblymember Corey Jackson as Chair of Assembly Budget Subcommittee No. 2 on Human Services.

Budget Subcommittee No. 3 on Education Finance

I have appointed Assemblymember David Alvarez as Chair of Assembly Budget Subcommittee No. 3 on Education Finance.

Budget Subcommittee No. 4 on Climate Crisis, Resources, Energy, and Transportation

I have appointed Assemblymember Steve Bennett as Chair of Assembly Budget Subcommittee No. 4 on Climate Crisis, Resources, Energy, and Transportation.

Budget Subcommittee No. 5 on State Administration

I have appointed Assemblymember Sharon Quirk-Silva as Chair of Assembly Budget Subcommittee No. 5 on State Administration.

Budget Subcommittee No. 6 on Public Safety

I have appointed Assemblymember James Ramos as Chair of Assembly Budget Subcommittee No. 6 on Public Safety.

Budget Subcommittee No. 7 on Accountability and Oversight

I have appointed Assemblymember Avelino Valencia as Chair of Assembly Budget Subcommittee No. 7 on Accountability and Oversight.

Sue Parker November 21, 2023 Page Four

I have made the following changes to Joint Committees in the 2023-24 Regular Session:

Joint Legislative Audit Committee

I have appointed Assemblymember Gregg Hart to replace Assemblymember David Alvarez as Chair of the Joint Legislative Audit Committee. Assemblymember Alvarez has been removed from the committee creating a vacancy.

Joint Legislative Budget Committee

I have appointed Assemblymembers Jesse Gabriel to replace Assemblymember Phil Ting as Vice Chair of the Joint Legislative Budget Committee. I have also appointed Assemblymembers Corey Jackson, Sharon Quirk-Silva, and Avelino Valencia to replace Assemblymembers Mia Bonta, Wendy Carrillo, and Kevin McCarty on the committee.

I have made the following changes to the Democratic Leadership for the 2023-24 Session:

Speaker pro Tempore

I have appointed Assemblymember Jim Wood to replace Assemblymember Cecilia Aguiar-Curry as Speaker pro Tempore.

Majority Leader

I have appointed Assemblymember Cecilia Aguiar-Curry to replace Assemblymember Isaac Bryan as Majority Leader.

Assistant Majority Leader

I have appointed Assemblymember Miguel Santiago to replace Assemblymember Gregg Hart as Assistant Majority Leader.

Assistant Majority Leader on Policy and Research

I have appointed Assemblymember Dawn Addis to replace Assemblymember Diane Papan as Assistant Majority Leader on Policy and Research.

Majority Whip

I have appointed Assemblymember Matt Haney to replace Assemblymember Lori Wilson as Majority Whip.

Assistant Majority Whip

I have appointed Assemblymember Eloise Gómez Reyes to replace Assemblymember Matt Haney as Assistant Majority Whip.

Sincerely,

ROBERT RIVAS

Speaker of the Assembly