Planning Boards, Commissions and Committees

Three Boards, Commissions and Committees are associated with the Planning Division

City Planning Commission

General Plan 2025The City Planning Commission is a nine-member volunteer citizen body appointed for four-year terms by the Mayor and City Council. The Commission makes recommendations upon and administers the regulations and amendments of Title 19, changes of zone or general plan, land divisions, grants, denies, administers and revokes conditional use permits, planned residential development permits and variances, interprets and applies the provisions of Title 19, and performs other duties as requested by the City Council. Live video of City Planning Commission meetings are now available online.

Four Planning Commissioners and three designated persons with disabilities convene as the Accessibility Appeals Board. This board considers and ratifies, if appropriate, findings and determinations made by the Building Official when a total exemption from a specific access requirement is granted. They also conduct hearings on written appeals of decisions of the Building Official regarding accessibility issues, and approve or disapprove interpretations and enforcement actions taken by the Building Official relating to access.

Carnegie Library, Downtown RiversideCultural Heritage Board

The Cultural Heritage Board (CHB) is a nine-member volunteer citizen body appointed by the Mayor and City Council. The CHB was established under the City's Cultural Resources Ordinance, and to meet the requirements of the Certified Local Government program. At least two members of the CHB must be appointed from among professionals in fields or disciplines related to historic preservation.

The CHB meets on the third Wednesday of each month to review historic preservation matters under its jurisdiction. Their primary responsibilities are to provide design review and guidelines for alterations to historic properties and to identify and recommend historic resources and districts for City designation. To date the CHB has designated 126 City landmarks and thirteen historic districts. Live video of Cultural Heritage Board meetings are now available online.

Historic Preservation Fund Committee

The Committee consists of five members serving two-year terms. The Cultural Heritage Board appoints two of its members to serve as representatives. The Mayor’s Nominating and Screening Committee appoints the City Council representative and two City residents affiliated with separate Riverside-specific historic preservation organizations. The Committee approves and denies grant proposals for the conservation, preservation, restoration, and rehabilitation of Cultural Resources consistent with the purpose of Riverside Municipal Code Chapter 20.30, Preservation Incentives. See Forms to apply.

raincross orange footer
City of Riverside Logo 30x30 City of Riverside  |  Explore Riverside  |  At Home in Riverside  |  Seizing Our Destiny

Font size:

Stop the Hacker
Copyright © 2015 City of Riverside | Accessibility Policy | Website Disclaimer | Privacy and Security Policy
Facebook: Like the City of Riverside LinkedIn Twitter YouTube: Subscribe to the City of Riverside RSS: Stay up-to-date with the latest news from the City of Riverside GovDelivery: Receive email alerts from the City of Riverside  RiversideTV Icon
Printed from: