
  
 
 
 
 
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:   CONTACT: 
Wednesday, December 1, 2010    Sergeant Dwayne May 
        (951) 353-7991 
        dmay@riversideca.gov   
 

DUI/Drivers License checkpoint Planned this Weekend 
 

Riverside, CA – Riverside Police Department Traffic Unit will be conducting a 
DUI/Drivers License checkpoint on Friday, December 3, 2010, at an undisclosed 
location within the city limits between the hours of 6:00 p.m. and 12:00 a.m.  DUI 
checkpoints are a proven enforcement tool effective in reducing the number of 
persons killed and injured in alcohol involved crashes, as well as being an valuable 
means for heightening awareness of the dangers of impaired driving. 
 
Officers will be checking drivers through the checkpoint for signs of alcohol and or 
drug impairments.  Officers will check for proper licensing and will strive to impact 
motorists just momentarily. If officers suspect that a driver has been drinking or is 
impaired, they will conduct a field sobriety test.  If you fail, expect jail, vehicle 
storage fees, license suspension, insurance rate increases, along with fines, fees, 
DUI classes, other expenses that can exceed $10,000. 
 
“Over the course of the past three years, DUI collisions have claimed 22 lives and 
resulted in 233 injury crashes harming 355 of our friends and neighbors,” said Sgt 
May.  
 
Statewide, overall traffic deaths declined by 23 percent, from 3,995 in 2007 to 3,081 
in 2009.  Total traffic fatalities are at their lowest levels in six decades, when the 
federal government began compiling figures.  DUI deaths declined by 16 percent, 
from 1,132 in 2007 to 950 in 2009, according to federal statistics.  Alcohol impaired 
deaths still make up the largest category of overall vehicle fatalities in 2009, with 31 
percent of all deaths caused by a drunk or impaired driver. 
 
“Everyone in California should be heartened with these figures,” said Christopher J. 
Murphy, Director of the California Office of Traffic Safety (OTS).  “But as 
encouraging as this is, we can’t let up on the efforts to encourage and support traffic 
safety.  You can help make your community safe; if you see a Drunk Driver–Call 9-
1-1.”  
 
Funding for this and other DUI checkpoints are provided to Riverside Police 
Department by a grant from the California Office of Traffic Safety, through the 
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, targeting those who still don’t heed 
the message to designate a sober driver.  
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MEDIA NOTES: To schedule an interview regarding the Riverside Traffic Safety 
Operations, please contact Sergeant Dwayne May at (951) 353-7991 or via email at 
dmay@riversideca.gov.  To schedule an interview regarding impaired driving efforts 
and programs in California please contact Chris Cochran, California Office of Traffic 
Safety at (916) 905-3063 or via email at ccochran@ots.ca.gov.  
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