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Riverside Police cracking down on buckling up

Click It or Ticket road safety campaign aims to boost seat belt use

Riverside, CA — The Riverside Police Department will be aggressively enforcing the state’s
occupant protection laws as part of California’s 2008 Click It or Ticket mobilization, taking
place May 12 - June 1. The campaign relies on heavy enforcement and public education as
a means to help California achieve the highest seat belt use rate in the nation. California
currently has the nation’s fourth highest seat belt use rate at 94.6 percent.

“Drivers and their passengers should be buckling up on every ride, day or night,” Chief of
Police Russ Leach said. “Our officers will be on the lookout for those who are not buckled
up, and for children not properly restrained. We will not accept excuses and we will not
hand out warnings.”

California has a primary seat belt law which requires that every passenger in a vehicle,
including the driver, is required to wear a seat belt at all times. If stopped and found to be
in violation, law enforcement will issue citations without warning. Tickets for first seat belt
violation is $102 for adults and $387 for children under age 16, in Riverside County.

“We're doing well, with nearly 95 percent buckling up, fourth highest in the nation,” said
Christopher J. Murphy, Director of the California Office of Traffic Safety. “That's 1.5 million
more people protected from death and injury by using seatbelts since the Click It or Ticket
campaign started in 2005.”

While the buckle up rate for adults has continued to climb in recent years, California’s teen
seat belt use rate lags behind the general population. In 2007, California’s teen seat belt
use rate was 88.9 percent, well below the state rate of 94.6 percent for the same year.

More than 280 law enforcement agencies statewide will be participating in this year’'s Click
It or Ticket mobilization. Additionally, agencies will be conducting nighttime patrols in an
effort to boost compliance at night.

Funding for officer overtime to support California’s Click It or Ticket campaign was provided
by a grant from the California Office of Traffic Safety through the National Highway Traffic
Safety Administration.
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2008 Click It or Ticket Facts and Figures

e  California’s 2007 seat belt use rate is 94.6 percent, up from 93.4
percent in 2006, fourth highest in the nation.

e Since the Click It or Ticket campaign began in California in 2005,
California’s seat belt use rate has increased from 90.4 percent in
2004 to 94.6 percent in 2007. This represents well over one million
more people who are now buckling up.

e California’s 2007 teen seat belt use rate is 88.9 percent, a
disturbing decrease from the 90.8 in 2006

e California’s 2007 child safety seat usage rate is 87.7 percent —
down from 87.8 percent in 2006.

e  The 2007 national average for seat belt use is 82 percent.

e The cost for a seat belt violation in Riverside County for unbuckled
vehicle occupants over age 16 is $102.

e  When children under age six are not properly secured in a vehicle,
the parent or driver can receive ‘one point’ on their driving record, in
addition to a fine ranging from $330 to $401 on a first offense and
between $795 and $971 on a second offense. If the parent is not in
the car, the driver gets the ticket.

e According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
(NHTSA), seat belts reduce a person’s changes of dying in a crash
by 50 percent.

e  Seat belts are the single most effective motor vehicle occupant
safety device yet developed for older children and adults.
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